Charming Videos Take the Complexity out of Technology


Every so often I come across something brilliant. That happened at BarCamp this weekend. I saw a presentation by Lee LeFever of CommonCraft. Lee and his wife produce in-house videos using a white board, paper print outs, and a couple of hands to explain things like social bookmarking, social networking, and wikis in a fun and very simplistic way. Its the simplicity that’s charming… and marvelous. I’m always finding myself trying to explain stuff like wikis and blogging to my buddies with no avail. Now I just have to email them one of these videos and they’ll get it. This very non-techy approach to tech topics really works for me on so many levels. Check out below one of their videos, Social Bookmarking in Plain English:

[blip.tv ?posts_id=336341&dest=-1]

4 Comments

Filed under Barcamp, BarCamp Vancouver, barcampvancouver07, Common Craft, Communications, Humor, Internet, marketing, Small Business Marketing, Social Media, social network, Technology, Web 2.0

4 responses to “Charming Videos Take the Complexity out of Technology

  1. i think it is cool to have an in-house videos using just a white board, paper print outs, and a couple of hands to explain things like social bookmarking, social networking. it is not that typical video I’m watching always. i wish i could do that also.

  2. Thanks a bunch for the kind words Rajan. I love that photo from the salt flats. Cheers!

  3. JS

    Pretty nice 101 Introduction. Well explain! When will we have the 201 version with how to create a network or add a subscription ?

  4. I love CommonCraft. I met Lee @ Gnomedex this year and he rocks. I always get a kick out of what they produce.

    I’m looking forward to the next one.

    Cheers,
    Dave
    http://www.myemma.com

Leave a Reply

