It Pays to Be a Penguin


Club Penguin

Lane Merrifield, Dave Krysko and Lance Priebe are going to Disneyland! The founders of popular kids site Club Penguin just got acquired by Disney as announced today. Check out Disney’s home page to find out happy the Magic Kingdom is about the deal. The site will now be called ‘Disney’s Club Penguin’, but will continue to operate out of Kelowna, BC, Canada. Way to go boys! Club Penguin hosts with us at PEER 1 and it’s amazing and incredibly satisfying to see another one of our clients hit the big money. Back in October 2006, startup client YouTube was acquired by Google in a billion dollar blockbuster deal.

The Club Penguin founders will receive $350 million, with an additional $350 million available to them based on the performance of the site. Lane will also become the executive vice president of The Walt Disney Internet Group (WDIG), reporting to WDIG President Steve Wadsworth. Disney plans no immediate changes to the operation or business model of Club Penguin.

The site generates revenue through subscribers and online merchandise sales, rather than the popular advertising revenue model adopted by most of today’s sites.

19 Comments

Filed under Branding, Business, Club Penguin, Disney, Hosting, Internet, Managed Hosting, PEER 1, Small Business Marketing, Social Media, Technology, Web 2.0

19 responses to “It Pays to Be a Penguin

  1. Pingback: Going to Disneyland!

  2. ™XäÑfËr™

    hmmmm…. i dunno. i have a bad feeling about this…

  3. coaks

    “Just when I thought you couldn’t get any dumber, you go and do something like this… and totally redeem yourself!” – Dumb and Dumber

    http://www.coaks.wordpress.com

  4. hehe, thats a nice post and picture as well!!

  5. Yay Club Penguin! I play Club Penguin!!! Do you know what my avatar is? It is a Moderator symbol in Club Penguin! Check Club Penguin out!
    ~0nic1 Waddle On

  6. kewl i go on cp anyone wanna meet me my penguins called blushy7

  7. amyknight7

    i go on it all the time if you wanna be my friend my penguin is called amyknight7

  8. beeky319

    I go on it like every day! You should check it out! It’s so fun 😀

  9. giants995

    Because Disney bought Club Penguin, they made Club Penguin add like ten thousand changes!!! and they all SUCK!!!!!!! I play it, and, other than the changes, I think it rocks. My penguin is Giants995

  10. Yeah Disney bought it which made CP suck a little more and now it’s all too confusing! I want the old CP pronto! Mostly everybody hates the new way! It’s just way too confusing!!

  11. ghoster

    CLUB PENGUIN ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!

  12. kettsclubpenguin

    I LOVE CLUBPENGUIN!!

  13. kettsclubpenguin

    i like stick arena now
    i still like clubpenguin but i play on stick arena LOTS

  14. zezehoney

    i love clubpenguin!

  15. I luv Club Penguin!!

  16. I joined club penguin about three years ago and was a member right away and it was sooooo worth it! I know some great cheats, but….. Well, I will tell you them next time.

  17. Nicci

    I WANT THE OLD CLUB PENGUIN BACK……not the disney one!!!!!BRING THE OLD ONE BACK…..QUICK!

  18. I was only a member for the start of this year and I love it.I’m a brown penguin with the brown one ponytail and I have the pink winter suit on, and I have brown shoes on. I LOVE CLUB PENGUIN!